crazy / Sociopolitical crap / Where I Live / Work

The Scab-Picker

There’s a young man in one of my classes who can’t seem to keep his mouth shut, especially when he really needs to, when the moment has long died and he no longer holds his audience of peers’ attention. When he realizes that the only person whose attention he has is the one person who is the voice of authority in the classroom — namely me — his tenor changes as does the nature of his delightful little game. It’s a strange phenomenon. It’s almost as if he’s continually picking at an already bleeding scab on someone else’s body, picking away at it until there is nothing left but a raw, pink indentation. To him, it makes no difference. He will continue to pick at it until a new scab is formed.

He knows perfectly well what he’s doing, and I think he enjoys it, even when there’s nothing there left to scratch. A couple of days ago, for example, he kept up with his steady stream of jabs and barbs, and I simply held up a palm towards his face, signaling that that was the end of his game for the day. For the last leg of the period, all ten minutes of it, I kept my hand up at him as he continued to pick at the emptiness. His classmates around him tittered. When class was over, one of them apologized for his behavior. I just shrugged it off as childishness, but I can’t help thinking it will never cease. It’s who he is. It’s how he was raised.

After Thursday, I won’t have to deal with him anymore, I don’t think. My little scab-picker, if anything, is sharp as a tack, and he’ll undoubtedly earn his degree — probably in something business-related because his daddy wants him to make a lot of money off the backs of the working poor — and he’ll get married to a wholesome middle-class girl who will quietly accept the nature of his constant scab-picking because that’s what she’s been conditioned to do as were all the women before her in her own family.

My friend and ex-roommate, now on the road to financial recovery, is apparently still “with” a lowlife scab-picker. That scab-picker is the primary reason why I’ve lost all respect for my friend. I used to be empathetic. Sometimes it’s very hard to find the strength to get rid of the pickers and let the new layer proliferate. I know this, having once been married to a scab-picker. It’s gotten to the point though where my friend’s picked scabs have become scars, and there’s nothing anyone can say or do to convince my friend that with the cycle of scab-picking comes fresh scars over old scars, and pretty soon, he will have none of his original skin left. He will be completely unrecognizable.

Scab-pickers like to have control over their picking. It’s routine, habit, routine, habit. Even worse, when the skin around the scab starts to itch as new skin is forming, the scab-picker vigorously scratches until blood seeps and infection occurs. My classroom scab-picker isn’t yet aware of the damage his picking will cause, mainly because, again, it’s habit and routine for him. He now picks though because he finds he enjoys it, that sense of control. I could sit him down in my office and show him what sort of damage routine scab-picking has done to me as well as other people I know who’ve let the worst sorts of scab-pickers in their lives. I could tell him stories of drug abuse to financial loss and homelessness to outright child murder. I could tell him about all of it, and what his future will consist of if he fails to change his behavior, but I know from experience there’s very little one can possibly do to help a scab-picker “recover.” They can’t be changed because, quite often, their own conscience is as raw and numb as the wounds they pick.

They’re simply nothing but scabs themselves.

5 thoughts on “The Scab-Picker

  1. One semester I had a particular scab picker in my high school senior English class who talked to himself if no one else would listen. After a couple of weeks of this, one day there was an empty seat in front of him. I gave the class a written exercise, sat in that empty seat, turned around to him, and said, “Right now you have my undivided attention. What would you like to talk about?” Silence. He avoided my eyes, squirmed in his seat, and bit his lips. More silence. He had nothing to say then and for the rest of the semester.

    Like

    • Good tactic! It also showed him that his vulnerability was evident through his scab-picking. So many are just attentions-seekers. My own scab-picker this term is a baseball player on the school’s team, and I get the feeling he does this due to some sort of machismo-superiority complex undoubtedly learned from some sort of parental figure (common in my area of the state). Two of his teammates are in the same class and sit near him; however, neither pays much attention to him, or one of them gives me an apologetic eyeroll if the scab-picker says something particularly obnoxious.

      Like

      • Often they play to a built-in audience in the class. That “entitlement” attitude is usually tied to football, but baseball players can display it, too. One of them played a prank on a blind teacher in a class I was observing. I told the coach, and the young man was off the team for a week’s suspension. The coach of the team is often a dependable ally. Good luck with this scab-picker!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment