writing

Bevvie shame

10555164_10203568739795097_2085175538_n

Curious. Are we wannabe authors supposed to have a “signature” drink? I have no “signature” drink. Why the hell should I? It’s as silly as having a “signature” fragrance. Seriously. A signature fragrance in order to have my scent, my perfume, linger behind me so that “he” would remember me. What if “he” stinks regularly of B.O. because he’s an outdoorsman? Is that his signature fragrance? What sexist asshat decided those terms exactly?

Anyway, I’ve somewhat stopped drinking soda and most juices, so aside from truly boring green tea, coffee, and water, I may indulge in something a bit stronger when the day calls for it. Chilled white wine is nice. No Chardonnay though because it’s just nasty, bound to turn the inside of my mouth into chalk. A good Riesling is just fine by me.

Lately though, I’ve learned that my tolerance for alcohol isn’t what it used to be at all. My liver is sour and withery. Dehydration comes easily for me. Once in awhile, I’ll foolishly indulge in something heavy, like the following:

 

The Most Awesome White Sangria Recipe Ever (modified courtesy of Food Network and Lily Pulitzer…I think):

Slice up rounds of 1 navel orange, 1/2 lemon, 1 lime, 1 pint raspberries and put aside (3-4 mint leaves optional).

In a covered pitcher, shake up 1/8 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brandy, 1/4 cup orange liqueur. Add in fruit and stir.

Add in 1 1/2-2 bottles of chilled dry bubbly. Stir a little to blend ingredients.

Serve with or without ice.

(See https://thisonpurpose.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/the-fine-art-of-making-tasty-treats-and-edible-edibles/ for additional pic)

After stupidly getting hammered on something like a homemade white sangria, I’m guaranteed to get a hangover the next day, the likes of which has me making The Promise…the one that goes something like “I will never drink another drop of such satanic, lifesucking poison ever ever EVER again!”

Pre-35, The Promise was often kept until the next weekend.

Post-35, The Promise is usually kept for several months. My guts just can’t take it.

I suppose that’s a good thing, even if it makes me a weak writer.

e8294daeb36c8b85249e5eb9f4c89f43

 

 

 

 

(http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/pick-your-potion/)

2 thoughts on “Bevvie shame

Leave a Reply

