Pop Culture / writing

ALL THE STUFF MIAMI VICE TAUGHT ME (THAT WAS COMPLETELY WRONG!)

Okay, so my new friend here, a fellow child of the ’80s, has much to say about Miami Vice and its influence on him as a pop culture staple. It was for me, too, and if you’re anything like us, READ NIAO!

Monsters, and Madmen, and Robots Who Fight Monsters...Oh My!

Like most people wandering the planet during the 1980s I use to watch the at times cheesy and occasionally groundbreaking Miami Vice.Cheesily groundbreaking… like the invention of macaroni and cheese!

I digress. Whoops!

Anyway, it was quite the big deal — staying up late with my dad on Friday night to catch the latest adventures of Crockett, Tubbs, and Edward James Olmos’s glowering moustache.

It hates you...the stache, not my dad! It hates you…the stache, not my dad!

There’s been a lot of important study like thingies conducted by a lot of important scholarly people type thingies dealing with how media shapes the minds of impressionable rugrats. Speaking for myself I was an impressionable child growing up in a small town.  My parents didn’t allow the glass teat to raise us but I did take a few lessons from it.

And everything Miami Vice taught me was complete bullshit!

LESSON I: Life Will Provide You With A…

View original post 1,286 more words

2 thoughts on “ALL THE STUFF MIAMI VICE TAUGHT ME (THAT WAS COMPLETELY WRONG!)

Leave a Reply

