crazy / Pop Culture

You Only Like Me When You’re Drunk (a song)

noMilk

I wrote this little country-ish diddy some time ago, while I was performing with a comedy improv troupe during my off days. I never got to perform it, and I’d so wanted to. I guess it just wasn’t meant to be. This was also written back during the ancient, long forgotten days of Myspace, and I’d posted it there. I tried to get all of my blog entries back, but Myspace admin, being Myspace admin, never recovered anything other than some crappy photos and a playlist.

(Myspace can just piss off.)

Anyway, having sung it several times in the shower this morning, I think I have all the lyrics down again. It’s so corny, but I’ve never written songs of any sort before. As for the subject matter, I think a lot of people can identify with what I used to go through back in college and grad school…

vodkaparty(rogerwilkerson.tumblr)

You Only Like Me When You’re Drunk

(by me, copyright Me)

Last night I went to a party.

I wore my sexy dress.

There you were in the corner

With beer stains on your chest.

I think you might’ve been there for a long time, for sure

‘Cuz the host was wipin’ furiously at your puke upon the floor.

You only like me when you’re drunk.

You only like me when you’re plastered.

You only like me when you’ve had a few,

And when you do, it’s a disaster.

I wish you’d like me when your bleary eyes were clear (at least for a day),

‘Cuz then you’d see who I really am when the goggles go away.

I’d picked my dress most carefully

(I thought it’d be a hit).

The gals at the party were quick to judge.

(They made me feel like shit).

But I didn’t care ‘cuz I wore it well

And specifically for you,

But that don’t matter anymore

(The vomit smell’s sunk through).

You only like me when you’re drunk.

You only like me when you’re plastered.

You only like me when you’ve had a few,

And when you do, it’s a disaster.

I wish you’d like me when your bleary eyes were clear (at least for a day),

‘Cuz then you’d see who I really am once the goggles go away.

I wish I’d be forewarned

Of your codependent ways.

It would’ve spared me my feelings

And nights of wayward lays.

But now I know…

Just what to do…

When I see you…

At a bash.

I’ll…

Stick with a Coke, and I’ll laugh at you

While I watch your ass get TRASHED!

You only like me when you’re drunk.

You only like me when you’re plastered.

You only like me when you’ve had a few,

And when you do, it’s a disaster.

I wish you’d like me when your bleary eyes were clear (at least for a day),

‘Cuz then you’d see who I really am when the goggles go away.

toomuch (klappersacks.tumblr)

4 thoughts on “You Only Like Me When You’re Drunk (a song)

Leave a Reply

