NaNoWriMo

It’s not over until I say it’s over.

644506b7e45333019a2093855aeae5e7

(comic courtesy of The Oatmeal…bloody brilliant)

     Mission accomplished for NaNoWriMo. Well, okay, I’ve not written an entire first draft of a book, but I’ve written over 50,000 words of the second novel in my series. I’m really only halfway done with it, and it’s quite shitty so far. Hopefully, I’ll have a first draft completed by the end of December. Then there will be another draft and another…and so on…so it won’t be utter shit.

(Incidentally, I didn’t expect the novel to be a part of a “series”; it just turned out that way. I felt like I had to do something additional, add another story, go further with the characters, and it just kind of blew up from there.)

It’s not like novel writing is old hat to me at all. In truth, I have only started doing this because I have a story, and I can’t quite condense it down to a single sitting’s worth of reading. My father used to get incredibly aggravated with me because I could never give him a brief synopsis or summary of a movie I’d seen or a book I’d read. I’d just describe it in so much detail that it just drove him batty. In school, I could never summarize anything. As a result, when I teach summary writing in class, I actually do the process with my students not so that they can see HOW to do it, but so that I get practice with it, too, since I stink at it.

That said, the query writing process is always a pain for me because not only am I bad at summarizing my work and making it seem catchy, I am also terrible at advertising myself. I don’t think I am worth my weight, really. Over the holiday break, I will have to do my best to write a fantastic query letter than says bare minimum about me and plenty about the first novel but without seeming to.

3 thoughts on “It’s not over until I say it’s over.

  1. Good for you!! Over 50,000 words is fantastic, and shitty or not (and I’m guessing you’re being extremely hard on yourself) it’s way more than you had pre-NaNoWriMo. Congratulations. Seriously, that’s quite an accomplishment!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much! Oh, it’s not great prose by any stretch of the imagination, but then again, I’m my own worst critic and all that. There are some serious plot holes and inconsistencies I’m aware of already, but I guess the goal is just to get a reasonably workable draft DONE. I don’t know how these epic novelists do it and manage a normal life around it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean. I haven’t figured out how to write and actually live. But then I read published novels and think — if this got published then maybe I need to work on quantity and completion and let go of some perfectionism. I did NaNoWriMo last year and still haven’t done anything with my draft. I seriously need a local accountability club where I have to set a goal each week. Anyway, as I have to remind myself, a workable draft is huge. Good job.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

